Board of Directors


Duane Sander

Chairman of the Enterprise Institute

Duane Sander is co-founder of Daktronics, Inc. in Brookings, SD. He also received the Spirit of Enterprise Award at the 2004 South Dakota Technology Summit.

Aelred Kurtenbach

Vice Chair of the Enterprise Institute

Al Kurtenbach of Brookings is co-founder and chairman of Daktronics, Inc., a worldwide leader in the design and manufacture of large screen computer-programmable video displays and score boards.


Steve Stahly

Treasurer of the Enterprise Institute

Steve Stahly is the principal and owner of Investments of West Des Moines, IA. Stahly Investments owns and operates several businesses that range from manufacturing to finance.

Keith Bartels

Secretary of the Enterprise Institute

Keith Bartels of Mitchell is vice president of the Martin Group, Inc., in Mitchell. He has also been a registered professional engineer since 1978. Keith served on the SDSU Alumni Association Council from 1989 to 1993.

Ed Cannon

Ed Cannon of Minneapolis, MN was the CEO and founder of Cannon Technologies.  In 2007 South Dakota State University recognized Ed with the distinguished engineer award. 

Errol EerNisse

Errol EerNisse of Salt Lake City, UT, is president of Quartztronics, Inc., and vice president of research and development for Quartzdyne, Inc. He founded Quartztronics in 1979 and Quartzdyne in 1990.

Andy Johnson - Headshot.jpg

Andy Johnson

Andrew Johnson of Brookings, SD is an owner of Midwest Glass and Access Holdings, LLC.

Jerome Lohr

Jerome Lohr of Saratoga, CA, is president of the J. Lohr Properties and the J. Lohr Winery, both located in San Jose. He formed J. Lohr Properties in 1964. The J. Lohr Winery was founded in 1974 with national production beginning in 1979.

Brad Wheeler

Brad Wheeler of Lemmon, SD is and has been president of Wheeler Manufacturing Inc since 1982. Currently he serves as chairman of the Governors Giant Vision Business Plan Competition, and is a board member of Dacotah Bank Inc.